Consultation on changes to the assessment arrangements for GCSE French, German and Spanish

Closed 19 May 2021

Opened 10 Mar 2021


Consultation on changes to the assessment arrangements for GCSE French, German and Spanish

Why your views matter

Proposals at a glance

The Department for Education (DfE) has launched a consultation on proposed changes to the subject content requirements for GCSE modern foreign language (MFL) qualifications in French, German and Spanish. This means that we need to review and if necessary revise the assessment arrangements to ensure they reflect the aims and requirements of the changed content.

We propose the following assessment arrangements, for revised GCSEs in MFL (French, German and Spanish):

  • revised assessment objectives to reflect the changed content
  • maintain tiered assessments (foundation and higher tier)
  • maintain a single tier of entry (foundation only/ higher tier only)
  • maintain non-exam assessment (NEA) for the assessment of speaking skills
  • maintain the requirement that the NEA counts towards 25% of total marks


This consultation is open to anyone who may wish to respond but may be of most interest to:

  • awarding organisations considering offering revised GCSE MFL qualifications in French, German and Spanish
  • teachers of GCSE MFL qualifications, AS and A level MFL qualifications and those in wider education with an interest in GCSE MFL, such as FE and HE
  • schools, colleges and others who deliver GCSE MFL qualifications
  • students and potential students of future GCSE MFL qualifications

What happens next

Your response has been submitted - thank you for completing the consultation

This information will now be analysed and the findings will be published on our website.

To get alerted to updates to this and other Ofqual consultations, you can sign up for alerts on our consultation page on GOV.UK.




  • Students
  • Parents and carers
  • Teachers
  • Schools and colleges
  • Regulated awarding organisations
  • Staff


  • GCSEs
  • AS and A levels
  • Conditions and guidance
  • Regulation of awarding organisations